How to reset MacBook/iMac to factory settings

693 views Leave a comment

You have used your Mac for a long time and it becomes slowly, or you want to sell your beloved MacBook to someone else to buy a new one. No buyer would feel interested in buying a computer full of your data. Therefore, it is a good idea to wipe out completely the data in order to refresh your Macintosh like new. In this article, we will show you steps to factory reset you MacBook.

Reset Mac to the Factory Settings

Note: Make sure your Mac is connected to the Internet so that you can download the latest copy of Mac OS X

  1. Clone the hard drive

Step-7-Install

First, you need to clear the MacBook before factory resetting it. To erase the hard drive on a MacBook or Mac, you should use a third party app to get the full  functionality. You can use apps like Super Duper or Carbon Copy Cloner to clone the hard drive to another one for the data safety. Connect the external hard drive to PC, set the internal drive as source and external as destination if you use Carbon Copy Cloner app. You will have to turn off file vault to reset the Mac.

  1. Turn FileVault Off

Step-3-Firevault

FileVault is a silent protector on your MacBook. Its mission is to encrypt your files on the hard drive. However, you should turn the FileVault off before factory reset. Just go to System Preferences –> Security –> Privacy –> FileVault. Check that the new box displays ‘FileVault is turned off for the disc’. If not, click on the small detachable lock icon at the bottom left and then click ‘Turn off FileVault’.

  1. Unauthorize iTunes

screen_shot_2016-01-04_at_09_56_46

By default, iTunes authorizes all your iDevices through your Apple ID. In case you sell your MacBook to a new buyer without authorizing the device on your iTunes, it can make the new user face troubles. Therefore, you should unlink the Mac you intend to sell from your Apple account using iTunes. Open iTunes and click on Store –> Unauthorize This Computer. Enter your Apple ID and password and click on Unauthorize

  1. Log out of the iCloud

Step-4-Disable-iCloud

Head to System Preferences, and open iCloud, click on ‘Sign Out’. You should also delete your personal data from the Mac’s local storage, click on ‘Delete from Mac’ on each popup you see.

  1. Reboot Mac in Recovery Mode & Factory Reset

First, make sure that your Mac is already connected to the Internet to install Mac OS X. Click on Apple > Restart to reboot the Mac and then long-press the Command+ R keys until the Recovery Mode Utilities window appears.

Select Disk Utility and click on Continue inside the Recovery Menu. Now, choose your main Startup Volume and then click on Erase to fully wipe the hard drive data. Once done, choose Disk Utility and Quit Disk Utility to quit the program.

Step-6-Erase

Now click on Reinstall OS X and follow the on-screen instructions afterwards. This will download and install a blank copy of Mac OS X on the Mac. Remember not to enter your Apple ID and password during the setup process.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>