How to use the Notes App to collaborate with others on Mac

402 views Leave a comment

The Notes app received an overhaul with the release of iOS 9. With iOS 10, Apple’s stock Notes app is now more visually appealing and secure as well as comes with several features ranging from sketching in a note to creating checklists.

49

However, the biggest feature coming to the Notes app we’d consider revolutionary is notes collaboration. You now can easily share notes with your friends using any modern Apple devices including a Mac. In this guide, we will run you through the steps to collaborate using the Notes app on your Mac. Here we go

  1. Steps to invite people to make changes to notes in the Notes app on your Mac

Note that make sure that you have created a note before moving ahead. Once you have created a note, you can invite your friends to view and work on it. Here is how you can do this

Step one: First off, you need to launch the Notes app on your Mac and select a note that you wish to share and collaborate on

Step two: Once you are done, you are now supposed to click on the Collaborate icon located at the top of the screen and select how you want to send the invitation. You will be presented with several options including Messages, Mail, social media and more

Step three: Once done, you need to enter the recipient’s name and click Send. Your friends will receive a link to the note, which they can use to collaborate on using their iPhone, iPad or Mac running iOS 10 or MacOS Sierra

  1. Steps to work on a note with others in the Notes app on Mac

Once your friends have received the note, they now can edit it or add more content to it. However, you cannot see who is making changes to your note, but you can see your note is being edited and changes being made to the note will be highlighted on the screen.

  1. Steps stop sharing a note in the Notes app on Mac

Once you and your friends finish the work on the note, you can stop sharing with them. Here is how you can do this:

Step one: Open the Notes app on your Mac and look for the note you are sharing

Step two: You now need to click on Collaboration icon and tap Stop Sharing

  1. Steps to block individuals from accessing your note on Mac

Step one: Launch the Notes app on your Mac and look for the note you are sharing

Step two: Once you are done, tap the Collaboration icon and click on the person’s name you wish to remove from collaboration

Step three: Click the More icon and select Remove access

Also read: Steps to enable Message effects in iOS 10 with Reduce Motion on

Got any questions? Let us know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>