Snapchat is one of the most used instant messaging services out there. Snapchat allows users to send photos and videos that are available for a few seconds. Last year, the messaging service reported 8 billion video views per day, setting a new record in the company’s history. Snapchat has never stop improving itself, as the company has always been adding new handy features and UI changes.
Despite these improvements, many people still hate Snapchat. If you are one of them, it’s best that you remove the social network from your device permanently. In reality, deleting your Snapchat account is not as simple as you are expecting because your account will still exist on Snapchat’s servers. With that in mind, we will help you out.
In this guide, we will walk you through the steps to permanently delete your Snapchat account and data. For some background, Snapchat has a dedicated website that allows you to deactivate and delete your account, so we are going to use its website to deactivate your account first.
Steps to permanently delete your Snapchat account and data
Step one: First and foremost, you need to deactivate your account. To do this, visit here in your Safari and log in with your Snapchat username and password
Step two: Once you are done, click Log in and then click Continue to move to the deletion page. You will need to confirm that you want to deactivate your account. All you need to do now is to enter your username and password again to confirm
Step three: A notice will show up informing that you can re-activate your account for up to 30 days after you deactivate it. You simply need to click Continue to complete the task.
As mentioned above, you have 30 days after deactivation. After the 30 day mark passes, Snapchat will delete your account permanently, so if you change your mind, reinstate your account before it’s gone for good.
Got any issues during the process? Let us know in the comments below.