Steps to downgrade macOS High Sierra beta back to macOS Sierra

381 views Leave a comment

macOS High Sierra is not a significant update to the operating system, as it comes with some small and welcome additions, including a new Apple File System, Metal 2, autoplay blocking feature, and more. macOS High Sierra is now available as both developer beta and public beta, meaning that anyone can test out its new features.

However, keep in mind that macOS High Sierra is still in beta stages and therefore comes with errors and bugs. If you no longer bear with the annoying bugs in pubic beta of macOS High Sierra, you can easily downgrade back to a more stable macOS version.

In this tutorial, we will walk you through the steps to downgrade macOS High Sierra beta to macOS Sierra. Before we begin, note that we are going to use Time Machine to restore your Mac to your recently made backup. Therefore, make sure that you have already made an archived backup of your Mac using Time Machine.

How to downgrade back to macOS Sierra with Time Machine

Step one: First off, you need to connect the Time Machine volume to your Mac. After that, reboot your Mac (While your Mac is rebooting, hold down Command + R keys to go into Recovery mode

Step two: Once you are done, from the macOS Utilities screen, hit Disk Utility to proceed. After that, select the hard drive or partition that contains macOS Sierra and then hit the Erase button

Step three: Next up, name the hard drive and then hit “macOS Extended”. Once you are done, you need to click Erase (note that this will erase all files and data on the hard drive, so make sure that you have a backup before moving ahead)

Step four: Once you are done, head to the macOS Utility screen, and you now need to click on Restore from Time Machine Backup at the top. After that, select your Time Machine volume and hit Continue to proceed

Step five: On the next screen, select your most recently-made backup and click on Continue. After that, you need to select where you want to restore your Time Machine backup and proceed with clicking on the Restore button

Step six: Wait until the restore process is completed (This may take a while depending on the size of your file). Once done, your Mac will reboot and go back to the macOS version you have chosen to restore to.

Don’t miss: Steps to enable Picture-in-Picture on MacBook Pro with Touch Bar

Got any questions? Let us know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>